The IV C files #4 – Still alive (and why you shouldn’t do intravenous vitamin C for cancer)

[updated 7 April 2014 – please also read my post Intravenous Vitamin C – Lessons Learned]

It’s been awhile since I last posted.

I wasn’t sure how to proceed.

When I first set up this blog it was to share my experiences with intravenous Vitamin C in resolving and healing Grade 1 breast cancer.

I was full of optimism, having talked to people for whom it worked.

However, the short of the matter is, the intravenous Vitamin C didn’t work for me.  The tumour didn’t break down.  In fact, it grew.

There was the shock and disappointment of the IV C not working – all that effort, all that hope.  It was almost as devastating as the original diagnosis.

It took me some time to find my way through.  I thought long and hard about whether I should just shut the blog down (because I wondered if I was encouraging people to try a treatment that may or may not work).  But I decided not to do so.

There’s another  reason I’ve started blogging again:  about a month ago, I went to the funeral of a dear friend I met who was also doing IV C.  Her cancer was a recurrence and had metastasised to her bones.  The first time round she did all the allopathic stuff.  When it recurred, she lost faith with medical science and decided to try the non-allopathic.  IV C did not work for her.   So I want people to read this and think twice before committing themselves to IV C.

And if there are readers out there going “I told you so”, well, at least I tried and I did it my way.  Because what if I hadn’t tried and it would have worked?  The fact that it didn’t work doesn’t make the knowledge in this blog any less valuable or pertinent.  It may even save lives and make cancer treatments more bearable.

What my journey has taught me is that:  we are all individuals.  What works for one person as a cancer treatment may not for another.

If you are reading this and thinking of trying intravenous vitamin C, then I hope that this post will help you make a decision:

1.  Intravenous vitamin C treatment is very expensive – think £10K at least for a full regime.  That is a lot of money.  There are cheaper treatments that may be just as effective.

2.  It may not work.

3.  In my personal experience, it tends to improve a condition for a bit, then when the IV C is stopped, if the condition hasn’t resolved, the condition may worsen.  For e.g. I met someone with brain and spinal tumours who could hardly walk.  He had IV C treatment and suddenly could walk, then when he stopped the IV C, his condition worsened.  From what I’ve seen, it doesn’t seem to work for people whose cancers have metastasised.  Another woman I met had secondary breast cancer and one of her tumours disappeared under IV C treatment.  But when she stopped the treatment, it came back.

So why didn’t the IV C work?

1. People are individuals.  Cancer is individual.  Even now, science is discovering new genes and sub-types of cancer which seems to suggest that the one-size-fits-all treatment from allopathic medicine does not work.  So if that’s the case for allopathic treatment, why not for non-allopathic treatment?  Even within a breast cancer tumour, research has shown that there can be more than one type of cancer cell.

2.  The levels of vitamin C that were used were insufficient.  I was given up to 100g per infusion.  Recent research from the Riordan Institute in the US have suggested using higher levels.

3.  We need to use more than one method of dealing with cancer.  i.e. IV C on its own is not sufficient.  For some lucky individuals, it is sufficient.  The problem is determining who are these lucky few.

4.  Better to take away the tumour or debulk the tumour so that it is easier for the body’s immune system to hunt down and get rid of the remaining cancer cells.

5.  The tumour was hypoxic (or poorly oxygenated) which made it less responsive to IV C.  For more information on tumour hypoxia, please check out the Oasis of Hope’s website:  http://www.oasisofhope.com/irt_ch2_therapies.php.

6.  Basically, there is no clinic in the UK that offers an IV C protocol that can match those of overseas cancer clinics.  So if you do have a spare £10K, do not do IV C in the UK – go to Mexico’s Oasis of Hope, or a German cancer clinic where they will use more than what treatment.

The doctors who run complementary medicine clinics say that even though the IV C did not get rid of the tumour, it had a beneficial effect on the body.  The cynical side of me says, of course they’re going to say that because they have a financial interest in offering such treatments.  There are no official statistics available by the clinic I attended

Certainly, IV C is supposed to be a good heavy metal detoxifier.  And I felt well, and still feel well all these months on.  I’m still alive, and that’s what matters.

