Supplement: GcMAF

Macrophage1

Macrophage eating cancer cell (photo from http://www.gcmaf.eu/info/)

Updated March 2016 – For more information on GcMAF, please join the GcMAF and GcMAF Cancer forums on Facebook – they are closed groups, so you have to wait for your membership to be confirmed.  They contain up-to-date information on sources of GcMAF, and also feedback and contributions  by people who are using GcMAF.

this post has helped you, please would you help me?  I am now fundraising for cancer treatments at GoFundMe http://www.gofundme.com/78jh2w or at JustGiving:  https://www.justgiving.com/goBananasforRona

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

[update 7 Dec 2013 – see post on Fulda integrative conference on possible reason why GcMAF did not work for me]

Updated 22 Feb 2014:  please note that the process for culturing Maf314 is different from Bravo Probiotic.  I suggest that if you want to do it properly, that you buy a fresh set of cultures from Bravo as only they can guarantee the activity of the cultures.  Compound 1 must be cultured afresh from powder each time.  Compound 2 can be re-propagated from the existing culture. 

When I was trying to find another weapon to beat the cancer, I used GcMAF for about three months.

I was searching for something that would boost the immune system so that it would attack the cancer cells.

GcMAF is a protein in our immune system that activates macrophages (white blood cells that eat cancer cells).   But viruses and malignant cells like cancer send out an enzyme called Nagalase that blocks production of your GcMAF.

So the reasoning is:  if you can supplement the missing GcMAF in your body, you can get your immune system firing again.

A measure that GcMAF is working is in a declining nagalase marker.  Nagalase can be measured using a blood test – the test is run by a laboratory in the Netherlands.  You need to find a doctor who runs an integrative practice (e.g. Hightree Medical) who will take the blood and send it to the lab.  Or you can contact Biolab in London who will take the blood, but they will only send the results to a healthcare practitioner, not yourself.  [if you do go to Biolab, be warned that one of the nurses is quite cranky – she messed up the first set of tests I took by putting the blood in the wrong coloured test tubes which meant I had to go back for another set of tests – and she didn’t like being told which vein to use even though she had problems trying to find a suitable vein].

GcMAF needs normal serum levels of vitamin D to operate at full strength.

So before you try GcMAF, you need to get a test for vitamin D (25-hydroxy Vitamin D).  I got mine tested in the UK and they were normal.  Later on I got them tested in Germany and they were sub-normal.  So either the levels fell or the tests were inaccurate.  I suggest you supplement when on GcMAF.

[update 7 December 2013 – don’t bother with the test.  GcMAF.eu and Prof Ruggiero recommend supplementing with 10,000 IU daily – that should be enough to get your levels up.  Do not wait for your levels to go up.  Use the GcMAF now and supplement with the Vitamin D.  They claim that they have not seen any toxic side-effects from such a dose,]

Another test you can take to see if you will respond to GcMAF is testing for the VDR gene:  People with bb/FF VDR geneotypes respond best, the Bb/Ff still gives a strong response, and the BB/ff geneotype does not respond.  Fortunately bb/FF is the most common, and BB/ff is the most unusual.

GcMAF is administered sub-cutaneously.  So you have to get used to giving yourself injections.

Oh yeah, GcMAF.eu recommend rebuilding the immune system with a good supply of lipids, one source of which is pigs brains!  [despite a number of e-mails to GcMAF.eu, and research on google, I never succeeded in getting a supply of pigs brains – I think they may have been banned in the UK after the mad cow disease scare.  I did meet someone who had a can of sheeps’ brains – it smelled exactly like my cat’s tinned food, and I suspect tasted the same!]

So, the burning question:  did it work for me?

My nagalase fell, from 2.9 to 2.6 in 3 months.  But I could not afford to keep using GcMAF – it cost £500 per month.  And the tumour did not shrink.  I spoke to the GcMAF representative, and they have anecdotal evidence that it has worked , even in Stage 4 cancer.

My own belief is that with large tumours and more resistant cancer cells, complementary therapies on their own may not be effective as a monotherapy but need to be combined with other treatments.

Another possibility is that the GcMAF I was using was not potent enough.

[update 7 December 2013 – I was at an integrative cancer conference in Fulda, Germany.  Apparently, the old GcMAF wasn’t as potent as the new GcMAF – goleic.  And the new dosings are much higher – 700ng twice or three times or even daily, given near the tumour or the lymph nodes nearest the tumour.  Best results are when GcMAF is given intravenously, not subcutaneously.  Update 22 Feb 2014 – please note that Prof Ruggiero himself does not inject into the tumour unless absolutely necessary as he does not want to seed the cancer which is what happens when you break the integrity of the tumour.]

GcMAF also comes as two separate probiotic compounds (Bravo Probiotic) that can be cultured into a yoghurt (Maf314 named after the number of processes it took for the lab to perfect the formula).  The cost is Euros 550 for a 3-month supply.  I’m keen to try it, but at that price, it’s another item on the list of things to get when I win the lottery.  I know someone who has been using it as part of his anti-cancer regime.  He even uses it as an enema.

Here is my post on GcMAF yoghurt (Maf314).

GcMAF can be purchased from Sansei-Mirai (Japan), Goleic from http://www.gcmaf.eu and Bravo Probiotic from http://www.bravoprobiotic.com.

A number of readers have asked me about my experiences in the GcMAF treatment centre in Switzerland.  Unfortunately, I was made to sign a non-disclosure agreement about my treatments there so cannot post on any social media.
