Humbled by other first-person breast cancer blogs and some brilliant writing

I am humbled.

I came across a cancer blog, Journeying Beyond Cancer, which contained a weekly round-up of other cancer blogs.

I was overwhelmed by how honest and authentic the writers were, how they bared their souls for the whole world.  Some very personal and painful experiences shared.

So sad that such brilliant, poignant, articulate writing has to come out of the suffering that is cancer.  Compared to a lot of the bloggers, my experiences have been less painful and grim – it really puts life into perspective.  I am grateful for their efforts, and awed by their talent – thank you to all those who blog about cancer.

********

I loved these blogs especially:

http://anotheronewiththecancer.wordpress.com/

http://thesarcasticboob.com/

http://cancerinmythirties.wordpress.com/

********

I have observed that most of the breast cancer blogs deal with reactions to the cancer, the side-effects of the treatments, effects on friends and family, and how the cancer has impacted on the life of the women.  There has been a few blogs on gene testing.  But so far, not one has talked about cutting-edge treatments, they’ve all been from the perspective of standard-of-care.  And not much about the science behind the treatments (apart from a few posts on BRCA gene testing) – maybe the writers feel that enough has been said on these points already.

So I feel I have something to offer after all.  I may not write as eloquently about the politics of cancer, nor am I able to share my deepest darkest emotions in the way these women so fluently do, but I am interested in finding other ways to stop this disease and prevent it from recurring.  I am interested in the science behind treatments. I am interested in innovation, to find other ways of beating cancer through immunotherapies. And educating through my blog is my contribution to the breast cancer blogsphere.

******

If you’re still hankering for more breast cancer blogs, here’s a site that contains a directory of the blogs that are out there:

http://www.blognation.com/directories/breast-cancer-blogs?select=popular

This is a really good blog written by an oncology researcher (oh, the irony of it all!) who was diagnosed with Stage 4 colo-rectal cancer.  His explanation of immunotherapies is clear and backed up by studies and research.  His sense of optimism is infectious:

ABOUT

 

