Hallwang Clinic #6 – boosting the immune system with infusions

Infusion

Updated 15 December 2013 with information on where to purchase Hepa-Mertz if you are living in the UK

One thing was sure, the clinic moved fast.  There wasn’t a day when I wasn’t doing treatments or infusions.  Five hours after I arrived I was hooked up to infusions.

Infusions are a way of introducing supplements and boosters intravenously.  They are very effective because they go straight into the bloodstream, where the body can immediately use them.

The infusions themselves weren’t expensive averaging Euro20 for a combination e.g Zinc, Vitamin C, Hepa-Mertz (a liver detox), Glutathione.  Compare this to the cost of a single dose of IV C in the UK at £150-£200, and it was like being in a candy store.

There were some boosters that were quite cutting-edge and not available elsewhere:  for example, an injection of foetal cells from placenta and thymus extract.  I had to sign a waiver absolving them in case I grew horns and started mooing.  They were supposed to boost the immune system.  They were very expensive.

What made having any infusion expensive In Hallwang was that in order to have them administered you had to pay the day-rate for medical care and use of in-house facilities (such as meals), and that cost several hundred Euros.  If you stayed in-house, the room cost included the day-rate.

So if you were staying in-house (which already had the day-rate built-in), then it made sense to have infusions everyday.

I did wonder whether daily infusions were necessary if you weren’t on chemo or weren’t end-stage or requiring high-level detoxification.

But there’s no doubt that I felt very well most of the time I was at the clinic (except the last week when I had localised chemo), and most of the other patients, even the ones on systemic chemo said that the side-effects were minimised because of the support from the infusions.

And Hallwang is the only clinic I know of that will give its patients who are going home in-between visits to the clinic, a supply of infusions to take home, so that they can keep up the regime and not lose ground – this is an unprecedented level of care in my opinion.

******

No high-dose intravenous Vitamin C

Interestingly, Hallwang does not advocate high-dose intravenous Vitamin C treatment.

I know that I was getting IV C in my infusions, but on the last day, I found out it was 15g.  15g?  I was used to doses of 100g.

So I asked the nurse, Wilfried, if I could have a higher dose.  Next thing I know, he summons Dr Kopic. [I still couldn’t get used to the idea of having the chief oncologist drop everything he was doing and attending to me]

– Why did I want a higher dose?

I explained that in the UK, I’d had up to 100g of IV C.

Cue stunned faces of everyone in the infusion room.

(For someone of my sylph stature, I apparently shouldn’t have been having such a high dose.)

Dr K explained that the clinic didn’t use such high doses because of the possibility of kidney damage.

*******

Hepa-Merz – liver detox and support

The clinic used Hepa-Merz quite a lot especially for patients who were doing Removab, the tri-functional antibody treatment – this treatment tended to cause liver enzymes to rocket.

Hepa-Merz is a combination of the amino acids ornithine and aspartate.   

Technical stuff:  Ornithine and aspartate are amino acids which are important in the biochemical pathways that detoxify ammonia.  L-Ornithine being a substrate of urea cycle, converts toxic ammonia into non-toxic urea which is eliminated via kidneys, helping the diseased liver to carry out its normal function smoothly (detoxification). The process lowers the elevated level of ammonia in blood (hyperammonaemia) which is a common problem in most of the liver diseases.

L-Aspartate is an essential component of citric acid cycle which liberates energy (ATP), and thus helps in regeneration of damaged liver cells.

Unfortunately, it is licensed in other European countries but not in the UK – I don’t know why and I find it frustrating.

But I can’t afford infusions!

OK, not everyone can go to Hallwang, or any other German cancer clinic, or even afford infusions in the UK, or the US, or Australia – they are criminally expensive.

I am very aware that posts like this one may be a world away from what you encounter or can afford.

So what can you do to help yourself that doesn’t involve expensive infusions?

You can take the same supplements in oral form.  The oral form may be as effective because a lot of it will be excreted in the urine, but it still works, and it can go a long way to boosting your immune system, or even ameliorating the symptoms of chemotherapy.

I am currently not on infusions, just oral supplements.  I make sure I space the supplements out throughout the day, so that there’s always something circulating in my bloodstream.

There is nothing to stop you from going out and buying good quality supplements like alpha-lipoic acid, selenium, zinc, Vitamin C, quercetin, resveratrol, coriolus versicolor or PSP and PSK.

Hepa-Mertz (oral granules) is available on the internet from Berlindaversandapotheke.de:

http://www.berlindaversandapotheke.de/artikelsuches.php?newSearch=1&volltext=HEPA+MERZ+GRANULAT+3000

You can also change your diet to incorporate more colourful vegetables, juicing and good quality meat, and cut out sugar.  It will give you a sense of control and you will be giving yourself a better chance of staying cancer-free.

********

Weekly treatment plan at Hallwang

Here was my treatment plan for one week at Hallwang.  The plans change from week to week or day-to-day, depending on the results of blood tests.  I had about 22 blood tests during my four weeks at Hallwang.

Infusions/injections:

DCA (daily), Zinc (3/week), Selenium (2/week), Vitamin C (2/week), Tationil aka Glutathione (4/week), Hepa Merz (daily), Alpha Lipoic Acid (6/week), Ozone therapy (2/week), Thymus foetal cell extract (i.m.) (2/week), Artesiane (2/week)

Supplements:

Genistein, Quercetin, Decristol (Vitamin D)

