Happy 2014 – lessons learned in 2013

Updated March 2016 – For more information on GcMAF, please join the GcMAF and GcMAF Cancer forums on Facebook – they are closed groups, so you have to wait for your membership to be confirmed.  They contain up-to-date information on sources of GcMAF, and also feedback and contributions  by people who are using GcMAF.

Updated 10 Jan 2014 – previously “Happy Christmas and 2014”

Updated 22 Feb 2014:  please note that the process for culturing Maf314 is different from Bravo Probiotic.  I am therefore unable to offer any cultures because I suspect my Maf314 culture is no longer viable.  I suggest that if you want to start, you buy a fresh set of cultures from Bravo as only they can guarantee the activity of the cultures.  Compound 1 must be cultured afresh from powder each time.  Compound 2 can be re-propagated from the existing culture.  

Here is the link to Bravo Probiotic:  http://www.bravoprobiotic.com/

And for further information on GcMAF and Maf314:  http://www.gcmaf.eu/

Happy 2014 to all my friends and family.

It’s been a year when the rug’s been constantly pulled from under my feet.  So thank you for seeing me through a challenging year.

It was a year in which I found a voice through this blog, I also met Grace Gawler who is a wise and generous cancer strategist who has held my hand throughout 2013, and been an integral partner in my journey.

To my friends on the cancer journey – may this year bring you NED and good health and loads of money for and success in all the treats and treatments you may need.

********

Winter at Hallwang video

(Here’s a short video I found, that I took from my room at Hallwang – the magic of the soft, falling snow and wintry scene in the Black Forest seems apt for this festive message)

Thank you to my readers

To all the readers of this blog – thank you for reading.  It’s been a lonely journey, because my experience is that only people who are going through the cancer journey can really know what it’s like.  I don’t mean to sound exclusive (that would be a waste of time – for goodness sake, we’re talking cancer – no one volunteers for this very exclusive club!) but to give another example, unless you have children, you can’t experience what it’s really like to be a mother or father.

Readers from all over the world

I had my first reader from the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.  Macedonia!  How exotic!  Welcome!  My readership is beginning to resemble a Eurovision audience – Douze points!  I’ve also got people who are reading in Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Turkey, the United States and of course … Australia.  (I’m partial to Australians because they were such a jolly lot at Hallwang.)

My cancer-treatment fund – why I am asking for your help

To everyone who has donated to my cancer-treatment fund, I thank you from the bottom of my heart.  I spent all my savings and took out a loan for treatments in 2013.  Had it not been for unforseen consequences (paralysis from nerve injury) from the mastectomy that make chemotherapy and radiotherapy extra-risky treatments, I probably would not have to return to Germany again, hence the fund-raising appeal for 2014 treatments.

I was very touched that a reader of this blog from Australia donated – the first! Thank you for your generosity.  A number of people who’ve donated have all had some experience of cancer in their families – I thank you for your support and understanding.  All the money goes to a charity which will administer the fund for me.

Details are on http://www.JustGiving.com/GoBananasForRona

My piano playing

I also have recordings of my piano playing (including a cheesy bossa-nova version of Tom Jobim’s Wave) on my JustGiving site – they are a bit wonky because the nerves are still healing.

Here’s one:  https://soundcloud.com/bisforbananascisforcancer/04-mw-fast-3

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Lessons learned in 2013

What have I learned in 2013?

  • That Mr Cancer and Mr Murphy often go hand-in-hand – that’s the nature of the cancer journey
  • That when Mr Murphy visits, friends and family are hopefully there to help pick you up.
  • That complementary therapies don’t work for cancer, especially if they are mono-therapies (cf my posts on intravenous Vitamin C), and it’s good to have a Plan B.
  • That sometimes orthodox medicine (the Plan B) offers the only “cure” at the time, or at least will buy you more time, so please don’t feel as if you’ve failed if you had to go the conventional route – I’ve met loads of people who tried years of complementary therapies which didn’t work.
  • The main goal is to live, not to prove whether or not complementary therapies work, and not to be tied into a philosophy.
  • That even orthodox medicine doesn’t always work – I’ve got too many friends with recurrences.
  • That there are other therapies like anti-body treatments and cancer vaccines and immune boosters which will help to prevent a recurrence.
  • That cancer is a marathon, not a sprint, and we should be prepared for years of vigilance.
  • That cancer should perhaps be treated as a chronic illness, like diabetes, and not a once-off occurrence – this is controversial, I know.
  • That people develop cancer fatigue (i.e. friends and family not the cancer patient), something the cancer patient has to bear in mind when dealing with friends and family.
  • That no one understands your cancer journey better than someone who’s going through the cancer experience.
  • That people who’ve been through it don’t want to have anything to do with someone who’s going through it.
  • That cancer changes you for life.
  • That cancer is a very expensive journey and will cost a fortune if you decide to go the complementary/non-public health/German cancer clinic route.  But what price healing, eh?

Apologies to readers

If I’ve pissed anyone off in my posts – I’m very sorry, it was unintentional.  I have tried to be discrete in mentioning encounters, and I did not want to exploit anyone.  Please send me an e-mail if you want me to remove any mentions – I am not a mind-reader!

Special mentions

To Keith, thank you for amongst other things, taking me to my appointments and taking care of the cats during my frequent absences and for the fund-raising surge, to Adi and Les for your e-mails and financial and emotional support, to Den and Rob for your love and beautiful paintings, Alison for being my fundraising buddy and cheering me up with those pyjamas and being a positive Moon in Sag, Vashtan, and Hannah and Esther, for your constant prayers.

To all the friends I’ve made at Hallwang and other clinics, I wish you good health and complete healing and a long life – may you grow old, surrounded by family and grandchildren!

To the amazing Peter Trayhurn, a huge hug for being so generous with your time and effort, for the GcMAF and for taking such good care of me (you are a real gentleman) and inspiring me with your joyful life.  I hope to see you again next year, for a much-needed fix of Joy!

To those friends who’ve passed on in their cancer journey (especially Dave, Andrea and Ren – too young and too soon!), I’ll miss you and hope we’ll meet again in another lifetime.  Thank you for sharing your courage and strength.

Especial thanks to those guardian angels/support team who gave me encouragement and hope and healing:  Carolyn Wogh (the counsellor at Hallwang), the medical and support staff at Hallwang Clinic, John Tindall (acupuncturist), Emily Jackson (osteopath), Jane Williams (cranial osteopath), Carrie Harris (counsellor), Gosia Gorna (counsellor), Pawel Wiacek (myo-fascial release), Bridget Finklaire (guidance counsellor, hypnotherapist).

And of course:  The Haven Breast Cancer at London, and YesToLife charity for their help with my ginormous supplements bill.

(apologies if I’ve missed anyone out).

May you all have a wonderful 2014 blessed with health, wealth and happiness!

Please help make 2014 a healing year for me by giving to my cancer-treatment fund at:
JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Leave a Reply

