The cost of Bravo Probiotic — GcMAF Yoghurt — Maf314 — someone find me a camel!

For more information on GcMAF, please join the GcMAF and GcMAF Cancer forums on Facebook – they are closed groups, so you have to wait for your membership to be confirmed.  They contain up-to-date information on sources of GcMAF, and also feedback and contributions  by people who are using GcMAF.

Updated 21 June 2014 – there is a new version of Bravo Probiotic called EasyKit – like it says on the can it is easier to prepare and is also slightly-cheaper because it comes with colostrum already included.

Updated 21 March re. daily cost of Bravo Probiotic, with adjustments for interest rates and also addition of US$ cost.

I’ve previously posted about Maf314 (which is the original version of Bravo Probiotic).

Now thanks to the generosity of friends and family who donated to my cancer-fighting fund, I’ve been able to afford a new set of Bravo Probiotic cultures.

GcMAF Success

The cultures I’ve had were about six-months’ old, so I was re-propagating Compound 1 from an old culture.  I was told by one of the scientists behind Maf314 that Compound 1 had to be cultured from fresh from the powder each time in order to get active GcMAF.  So chances are the level of GcMAF could not be guaranteed in my existing cultures.

There were two options – a year’s supply for Euro2000 or a 3-month supply for Euro550. I could just about afford the 3-month supply.

Before you go into a tirade about the exhorbitant cost of what is basically a yoghurt, all I can say is that I think it’s scandalous too, but I have seen evidence in what it can achieve in terms of immuno-stimulation that goes beyond the yoghurts you pick up in your supermarket aisle.  (see my blog post:  GcMAF at work – Bravo Probiotic – Myths of the dangers of dairy products for cancer patients (a talk by Prof. Marco Ruggiero).  And until I find out the secret of how to make Maf314 myself, I will just have to bite the bullet and buy it.  (I do wonder though if you’d get the same effect from downing a couple of capsules of lactoferrin, some colostrum, olive oil and a pint of kefir and jumping up and down.)

[I work out the daily cost of the yoghurt at the end of this post]

Here is  the actual recording of the talk by Prof Ruggiero given at the GcMAF clinic on the benefits of Bravo Probiotic.  (Please note:  The opinions expressed in this talk are academic considerations only and they are not intended to represent medical advice to anyone. If you need medical advice, please refer to your healthcare professional.)

I placed my order and the very efficient people at Bravo Probiotic sent me the kit which promptly arrived 2 days’ later from their mysterious batcave in Switzerland.  That was impressive.

So what do you get for Euro550?

I opened the package, feeling like a little child on Christmas Day.  Oh.

Bravo1

It looked a bit like the sort of toiletries bag you get in First Class [not that I’ve ever flown First Class, but you get my drift!], and full marks to the Bravo Probiotic team for the packaging and cohesive brand identity.  Yoghurt is not an easy product to sex-up [I used to work in advertising, so I should know].

The bag looked smart and business-like with its navy and white trim.  I even liked the nifty Bravo Probiotic badge with its depiction of endless blue skies and pristine mountains which exuded health, and there is no irony in my tone as I write this.  It’s just that for Euro 550 I was hoping for a handwritten invitation to dinner with Professor Ruggiero or David Noakes.  I guess the proof is in the pudding and not the packaging.

I opened the kit, and this was what was in it:  a  booklet that was an instruction manual, a small bottle of Compound 1, six sachets of compound 2, a smaller bottle of Compound 3.

Bravo2

Bravo3

Here’s a close-up of the bottles of Compounds 1 and 3.  As you can see, there’s not much of the product in it, but I guess there’s sufficient for 3 months.  I could see that I would be measuring things out in microgrammes, with the care usually accorded to Class A substances, in order not to fall short.

Bravo4

More precious and expensive than most Class A substances!

I read through the instruction booklet.  It was user-friendly, less intimidating and much easier to follow than the Maf314 manual.  There were a few typos and quaint phrasing in the booklet, but that’s OK.  The process for making Bravo is not that much different from Maf314, except that with Maf314, I was told that I could re-propagate Compound 1 from the existing culture.

The one instruction that puzzled me was the reference to a measurement called a smidgen.  “Add a smidgen of Compound 1 to the milk”.  Smidgen?  It sounded very unscientific and imprecise.  It’s the sort of measure that’s used in grandmothers’ cake recipes, along with “pinch” and “dash”.  How was I going to measure out a smidgen?  Was it larger than a pinch or smaller than a dash?  It wasn’t until I examined the kit further that I realised what a Smidgen was – the kit included a little metal spoon about an eighth of a teaspoon, and the spoon was marked “SMIDGEN”.  Ah so!

Smidgen2

A Smidgen – literally!

I’ve covered the making-of in other posts, so I’ll skip merrily over the process this time.

I just want to answer the question of what sort of milk is best for Bravo Probiotic.  If you can get milk that’s just been squeezed out of a cow listening to classical music, so much the better, but apparently (I was informed by one of the Maf314 scientists) that milk from Jersey and Guernsey cows is supposed to be the best to use.  I don’t usually buy Gold Top milk because it’s more expensive than even organic milk, but that day the local supermarket had some at a reduced price.  So I bought three litres – the recipe calls for 2.5 litres.

Bravo5

Now, Gold Top milk is very rich in cream (5.0% fat content vs 3.5% for normal whole fat milk), and it’s usually unhomogenised, which means the cream rises to the top of the bottle.  When I cultured Compound 1, this cream formed a little yellow crust at the top.  I’ve used unhomogenised milk from cows that weren’t Jersey/Guernsey and the crust has never been so thick or yellow.  Below is Compound 1 (after 9 hours) cooked – Compound 1 contains the GcMAF:

Bravo6

Below is Compound 2 (the kefir) after 24 hours in the airing cupboard.  The yellow colour is the cream.  It was lush.  The heart-shape was a lighting fluke and I hope a good omen!

Bravo7

Below is Compound 1 (after 12 hours in the fridge) decanted into a jar, ready to be fermented with colostrum (another 12 hours in the airing cupboard).  The small jar at the side shows the thick creamy crust at the top.

Bravo8

Are there any differences between Maf314 and Bravo Probiotic?

Well, without scientific apparatus I can’t determine what the activity levels of GcMAF are in either product.  And I used Gold Top milk which may have given Bravo Probiotic a different look and feel.  I asked one of the scientists behind Maf314 how much GcMAF was in a 50ml serving and was given the “how long is a piece of string” answer – the algorithm depends on variables which include the time the cow was milked!  In a sense, making and eating Bravo Probiotic/Maf314 is an act of faith – one hopes that it’s going to deliver the goodness that bog-standard yoghurts (that don’t cost Euro550) don’t.

Texture-wise:  For this batch of Bravo Probiotic, Compound 1 felt a little silkier, and maybe even a little more slimey and gloopey (sorry I know it doesn’t sound very palatable) than Maf314’s Compound 1.  Compound 2 wasn’t as thick or sour or fizzy as the Compound 2 I got from Maf314.  And it wasn’t as lumpy as Compound 1 (usually that’s the reverse).  But these are variables that depend on temperature and other factors.

Taste-wise:  this first batch of Bravo Probiotic tastes very mild and not as sourish as Maf314.  It’s also creamier and thicker, but I suspect that’s got something to do with the high-cream content of the Jersey/Guernsey milk that I used.

Bravo Probiotic can be made with any mammalian milk (including human milk!) but not a vegetable milk (i.e. not soya or almond milks).

Camel

May also kill cancer cells. image credit: wikipedia

Recently, I came across some research that showed that camel milk had apoptotic qualities on breast cancer cells:

“Our results showed that camel milk, but not bovine milk, significantly inhibited HepG2 and MCF7 cells proliferation through the activation of caspase-3 mRNA and activity levels, and the induction of death receptors in both cell lines. In addition, Camel milk enhanced the expression of oxidative stress markers, heme oxygenase-1 and reactive oxygen species production in both cells.”

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22654482

Someone find me a camel!

********

Approximate cost of yoghurt/day [actual cost will vary according to the cost of milk and colostrum and currency exchange rate.  For this example, I am using an xe.com rate of 1 GBP = 1.19504 EUR and figures are rounded to two decimal places.]

Remember, each culture yields enough for two 50ml servings per day, which will last one week (so you have to culture weekly). Or if you only have one serving per day, then the culture will last two weeks (i.e. you only have to culture every two weeks).  One of the major costs is the colostrum – I used to recommend Holvita, but now I recommend buying Bestvital which is cheaper and organic and cold-filtered.

BASED ON WEEKLY CULTURE

Cost of cultures for 3-month supply (i.e. 90 days) = Euro 550 = Euro 550/90 days = Euro 6.12/day

Cost of milk – Gold Top (Jersey/Guernsey @£1.10/litre x 2.5 litres = GBP£2.75/week = approx. Euro3.30/week x 12 weeks [i.e. 3 months] = Euro 39.60/90 days = Euro 0.44/day

Colostrum (Bestvital) = £17.95/bottle = Euro 21.45/week x 12 weeks = Euro 257.40/90 days = Euro 2.86/day

Electricity = ???.  Time/labour = ???  Fun/satisfaction factor = ???

Approximate cost = Euro 6.12 +0.44 + 2.86 = Euro 9.42/day = US$13.00/day

BASED ON CULTURE EVERY 2 WEEKS:

Cost of cultures for 3 months (i.e. 90 days) = Euro 550 = 550/90 days = Euro 6.12/day

Cost of milk – Gold Top (Jersey/Guernsey @£1.10/litre x 2.5 litres =  GBP£2.75/every 2 weeks = Euro3.30 x 6 weeks [i.e. every 2 weeks for 3 months = 6 weeks] = Euro 19.80/90 days = Euro 0.22/day

Colostrum (Holvita) = £17.95/bottle = Euro 21.45/week x 6 weeks [i.e. every 2 weeks for 3 months] = Euro 128.70/90 days = Euro 1.43/day

Electricity = ???.  Time/labour = ???

Approximate cost = Euro 6.12 +0.22 + 1.4 = Euro 7.77/day = US$10.72/day

**********

I have now found a cheaper liquid colostrum:  My recommendation now is for Bestvital colostrum – it comes from Germany, but it is much cheaper than Holvita.  One bottle of Bestvital costs £17.95 vs Holvita’s £25.  12 bottles costs £169.95 – this is a real bargain, and it’s organic and cold-filtered.

I am grateful to be of service and bring you content, like this post, free of charge. If you are able to help donate to my cancer-fighting fund, you will be helping me. Thank you!

You can donate at:  GoFundMe http://www.gofundme.com/78jh2w  and https://www.justgiving.com/goBananasforRona

*********

A number of readers have asked me about my experiences in the GcMAF treatment centre in Switzerland.  Unfortunately, I was made to sign a non-disclosure agreement about my treatments there so cannot post on any social media.

 

6 responses

  1. Hi, how are you doing with the Bravo treatment? I am currently researching GcMAF, it is very interesting! although awkward and expensive :/ I wanted to let you know about another treatment you may be interested in – Cannabinoids from the Cannabis plant. You should research this as I have had interesting results for my disease and there are many testimonies from cancer sufferers who say they have been totally cured within 6 months. Search for ‘RIck Simpson Oil – Run From The Cure’ ‘Pheonix Tears’ ‘CBD and THC’ ‘ Endocannabinoid System’
    Peace & Love
    Steve 🙂

Leave a Reply

