Wishing you a happy and healthy 2016!

Friend

Updated March 2016 – For more information on GcMAF, please join the GcMAF and GcMAF Cancer forums on Facebook – they are closed groups, so you have to wait for your membership to be confirmed.  They contain up-to-date information on sources of GcMAF, and also feedback and contributions  by people who are using GcMAF.

(Updated 3 Jan 2016 re. GcMAF)

I used to pray for strength to get through the year.  And the Universe heard me and sent me challenging life experiences (like a divorce, house sale, cancer treatments, the death of two of my beloved cats) to build up my character and strength.

Thanks, Universe!

So this year, my prayer for myself and all of you, is to be happy and healthy.  Let’s see what Mr Universe makes of that!

My prayer is also that I find something larger and more positive and life-giving than cancer, so that I wake up in the morning thinking not of cancer, but looking forward to happy things.  That I will view life less as a burden, than a glorious adventure.  That I learn to smile more and laugh at myself and not take life so seriously.  That this past year with its crumbling foundations, is but a blip in my life.

I don’t think we can avoid the challenges in life – it is what life is.  But what’s helped me this year is a small group of friends who’ve held my hand when the tears and the pain got too much, and who stood by me, even when I was at my most demanding and childish, not expecting false smiles from me.

So thank you again to everyone who came to my treatments, who connected with me, and took me out of my self-pity.

Thank you to all the readers of this blog who commented and gave me support and encouragement – thank you for all the e-mails you sent me and posts that you left.  I feel very proud to have you as my readers.

What other lessons have I learned this year?

  • Only the same-old same-0ld that cancer is a bastard of a disease.  I met a woman who’d been given the all-clear after 5 years, only for the cancer to return one month later, as Stage 4 cancer.  I mean what kind of cruel is that?  Some of my friends have been dealing with metastatic cancer for years. Cancer is no longer a one-off disease.  People who don’t have cancer are under the erroneous impression that after cut-poison-burn has been applied, that patients are “cured”.  This is not the case.  Cancer is a canny beast, it mutates, it creates new signalling-pathways, it becomes resistant to treatments.  It surfaces years later, like the creature from the Black Lagoon.  We may have to start treating cancer as a chronic condition.
  • That all the diets, supplements, in the world may or may not help.  I’ve given up getting angsty over diet or supplements – you can tell who’s been newly-diagnosed by their evangelistic obsession with raw, gluten-free, superfood, fibre-rich, vegan foods, kale, sprouts, bean burgers, wheatgrass and green juices and reverse osmosis water.
  • That GcMAF may or may not work.  In my case, it didn’t – I can be honest now.  But then, I was using the version that was being sold by David Noakes of Gcmaf.eu.  I even went to the GcMAF clinic in Switzerland, and adhered to their protocol.  The GcMAF waters are now muddied by the fact that there are new versions of GcMAF being created, and I have witnessed what happens when there are large profits to be made from GcMAF.  I have witnessed jiggery-pokery by one party trying to steal the formula from another party.  All I can say is:  if you try it, and you are absolutely sure it works, then good for you.  I hope to do an update on GcMAF in the future, but for now, I’m just as bewildered as any newcomer about the variants and promises made.  If you are interested in trying GcMAF, then please become a member of the closed Facebook Groups:  GcMAF and GcMAF Cancer – there is some very good and trusted information there and an administrator who is respected.
  • That breast cancer may be an over-treated disease by doctors zealously trying to uproot the cancer with treatments that have invidious side-effects.  It’s not the primary tumour that’s the problem.  Left alone, the tumour will grow.  But what’s of more concern is the possibility of metastasis.

Let’s hear it from Dr Oscar Bronstat, the CEO of Metastat, a company that has tests capable of predicting the likelihood of metastasis:

“At MetaStat we’re concerned with the treatment and prevention of metastatic diseases.

The key scientific breakthrough was the discovery of a pathway by which solid tumor cells acquire the ability to metastasize or leave the primary tumor to infiltrate other parts of the  body. The reason this is so important is that 90 percent of deaths from metastasizing cancer result not from the primary tumor but from the tumors that occur as a result of metastasis from the primary tumor.

To be clear, only some tumors are capable of metastasizing.

Take breast cancer, for example. If left untreated, only 35 percent of patients would develop metastatic disease. If you did not treat it, the tumor would grow and expand in the breast but in only about one-third of patients would the tumor cells spread through the blood stream to other parts of the body.

Another example is prostate cancer. If left untreated, only 20 percent of men would ever develop metastatic disease.

Let’s take a look at this from another point of view with breast cancer.

Only 35 percent of women with breast cancer would develop metastatic disease if left untreated. However, today, 80-85 percent of women with newly diagnosed breast cancer are treated with chemotherapy up front in an attempt to prevent the development of metastatic disease.

One hundred percent of women who get chemotherapy for breast cancer will get sick in some fashion and one percent will die from the treatment. It takes six months to deliver the complete course of chemotherapy with an average cost of $75,000 per woman.

The point is that we are massively over treating patients unnecessarily because we previously did not have a good way to understand if a patient was going to have an aggressive versus an indolent tumor.

Ideally, we could identify those who only need the tumor removed versus those who are at risk for metastatic cancer and require chemotherapy. This challenge is important to patients, physicians, and the healthcare system that bears the cost burden for these treatments.”

Did you hear that?  “If left untreated, only 35 per cent of patients would develop metastatic disease”.  So if we can work out who these 35 per cent are, then the remaining 65 per cent wouldn’t need such draconian treatments with side-effects which ironically include, cancer.

Perhaps the answer lies in immunotherapies, manipulating the body’s immune system to recognise the cancerous cells, creating an immune system memory so that the body never forgets what cancer is.

Or perhaps the answer is in doing less, monitoring and waiting, and not administering treatments which may be unnecessary because doctors just want to make sure it’s all gone; the same group of doctors who persist in giving breast cancer patients 6 weeks’ worth of radiotherapy when it’s been proven that it’s no more effective than 3 weeks at a higher dose.

My prayer is that these doctors, and the medical establishment innovate faster, and implement positive treatments faster.  Otherwise, countless women who blindly put their faith in these doctors will continue to suffer from the side-effects of cancer treatments.

The problem is that we have got too used to the get-it-all-out approach to cancer treatments.  Perhaps it’s safer not to get it all out, but to keep it stable.  Perhaps we have to learn to live with the tumour as the enemy within, the uncertainty of not knowing whether the cancer will mutate and spread.

My final prayer is for the return of hope to all who are facing life-threatening illnesses, that somehow, somewhere, a miracle happens and total remission and healing occurs.

Love to my friends, present and absent.  Love to my two cats, Maya and Teddy who saw me through so much in life, and gave me so much love, then were prematurely taken away from me this year.  Good health and a good year to all.  Goodbye 2015.  Happy 2016.

Snoopy

Hope …

4 responses

  1. thank you for all that you write and share. I found your blog some time ago when I was trying to see if anyone was saying the same thing about curcumin that I was, and you were the only one I could find. And as someone who has also gone through breast cancer and the awful and unnecessary abyss between the holistic and the conventional, I was very grateful to see what else you had said. If you ever want to drop me a line, I’d love to have a conversation. No particular agenda, just connection. You can see some of the articles I’ve written about my own experience on my website if you’re so inclined. Or not. Mostly I wanted to say thank you.

    • Dear Fran, thank you so much for reading my blog and your kind comments. It is always nice to hear from someone who is also on the same healing journey, and who understands its ups-and-downs. I’m really chuffed!

      Is this your web-site?

      http://www.fransussman.com/

      I’m very very impressed. Is it breast cancer, or Lyme disease that led you on your career path? I think it’s great that you are able to help people with your knowledge and experience.

      I think it’s amazing you managed to get rid of your Lyme disease as I’ve heard that it’s very persistent.

      Lyme disease has been hitting the headlines in this country. There is talk that it is transmissible between humans. And that an epidemic of undiagnosed Lyme patients is on its way.

      That’s interesting you have been training with Dr Kleinhardt. I was for a short while receiving treatment from a practitioner who trained with him: Jonathan Frewing.

      Have you ever tried GcMAF for Lyme Disease?

  2. I am very intrigued by the depth and candor of your blog. I’m a fan of your conversational writing style, too. Feeling connected! For this, as well as all the information and links, I am grateful. The feelings of being immobilized with fear coupled with strong and conflicted beliefs associated with questioning authority may be in my rear-view mirror but the trauma of that period of time remains raw for me and require a special source of energy to manage and keep restrained. haha – I still question authority. I’m just not afraid to do it anymore!
    In addition to conveying my appreciation for you and your work on this blog, I’m searching for world-wide information and applications of a particular therapy. Info from company of the equipment used is described at the link below. Have you ever encountered the combination of IV Vitamin C & IV Curcumin, followed by photodynamic therapy (a use of PDT without chemicals that seems to be very limited in use in North America.) into the bloodstream vs. site specific or skin-related applications? I’m in Canada and know of only one place it’s available in this country and another in California. The equipment is from Germany. I’m happy to share what I know about it, if that’s helpful to you. I have a story of direct experience and another about my friend who avoided all conventional treatments for breast cancer in favour of this (along with some other alternatives) to address her 1 cm, Stage 2 tumor…successfully. She’s had no chemo, radiation or surgery and the tumor is gone, her CTC has gone from 1,950 with some fragments to 350 with an increase in fragments. Again, she accessed some baseline testing from Germany. I used an Oncoblot (Indiana) blood test to avoid biopsy. Looking forward to hearing from you!
    Best Regards, Marnie
    http://www.webermedical.com/en/weber-medical-for-professionals/med-lasertherapy/photodynamic-tumour-therapy/

  3. additional detail/correction:
    “a use of PDT without ‘DMSO’ (instead of ‘chemical’)…”
    “baseline testing and tracking from ‘Maintrac’ in Germany.” I also used this to establish baseline CTC and fragment count prior to therapy.

Leave a Reply

