God bless Donna

Sailboat1

Donna loved sailing in Nova Scotia, Canada. Image credit: sailboats.wordpress.com

I don’t normally write obituaries, because since I’ve been on this journey, I’ve had so many friends pass away, the blog would be full of good-byes.

But I wanted to make an exception for my friend, Donna Lockyer.

I met Donna Lockyer through another friend Peter Trayhurn.  It was an internet friendship, something that is only possible in this day-and-age.  Whereas in the past support groups would have met in person, now people can connect through the internet across many miles.  Donna lived in Nova Scotia, Canada.

Donna had had Stage 4 breast cancer and beat it.  She had chemotherapy, surgery, radiotherapy.  And she beat it.  It was all gone for several years.

Then it returned.

She threw her energy into finding new cures.  She tried every supplement going.  Including Goleic and GcMAF. The latter was to prove ineffective (contrary to David Noakes’ claims) and she was charged her a fortune for the Goleic and GcMAF. [I’d actually previously written something stronger, based on the e-mails that Donna had sent me, but I’ve toned it down!].

She had an expert team of doctors and researches, including her twin sister, Della, who helped her with finding new cures.

Donna was very generous with sharing her information, including protocols given to her by cancer strategists.  She was also very positive and was always cheering me up.

In October 2015 she told me about a new therapy she was trying – 3BP.  She had gone to one of the best practitioners using 3BP, in the Bahamas.

She also talked about coming to Europe for treatment … perhaps with Professor Vogl and TACE.  She asked for my help, but I was on medication and wasn’t able to help.

I sent her a New Year e-mail.  No reply.  I sent her a few more e-mails.  No reply.  Finally, I managed to track down her sister, Della and asked after Donna.

The news wasn’t good. Della had passed away in a hospital on 23 December, 2015.

I never got a chance to say good-bye to Donna.  To tell her how smart she was to find out all the information about cutting-edge cancer treatments.  To tell her how brave she was to try cutting-edge treatments that prolonged her life.  For standing up to people who touted cancer cures but were nothing more than quacks.  To say thank-you for listening to me moan, and for giving me hope.  It was good to have someone like Donna who had been through the mill hold my hand.

So this is my good-bye to Donna.  A remarkable woman with the strength of a thousand women.  She reached out to many people and touched people’s lives.  She loved sailing in Nova Scotia.  She was a wonderful and proud mother of two intelligent young boys.  A sister to Della.

Thank you, Donna, for coming into my life.  So sorry I couldn’t do more to help you.

I hope you are enjoying the sailing wherever you are, free from cancer and spreading light wherever you go.  May the wind always be in your sails and God in your heart and soul.

Leave a Reply

